Success: Something to Wear to the Opera

20130417-224654.jpg

Just a quick note of the best kind: I had something to *WEAR*!!!!!!!!! A fun night out with a great friend and it wasn’t preceded by all kinds of stress about what I would wear or dampened by disappointment in whatever I pulled together.

I made this dress last spring to host another friend’s baby shower and I loved it then, too. It is icing on the frosting of the cake that there it is, hanging in my closet, ready when I need it.

Back shot:

20130417-225200.jpg

These pictures are heavily photo-edited because I didn’t realize until later that one son or the other had blurred the lens with finger prints.

The pattern is Butterick 5602

20130417-225509.jpg

20130417-225518.jpg

And here is my original review on PatternReview.com posted back in 2012:

Pattern Description: Fitted, lined dresses A, B, C have front and back darts, neckband, back zipper and above mid-knee lengths. A: contrast neckband, hemband and bow. B: short sleeves with sleeveband and bow. C: contrast V-neck band and welts. I added the sleeves from Vogue 8409.

Pattern Sizing:
8-14. I cut a 12, then a 14.
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes! Except the sleeves I added.

Were the instructions easy to follow? I think that the instructions had some issues. I had to send an SOS email to marec about the collar and I found the instructions for the zipper confusing. I called my mom and checked out some youtube videos to figure out what how to put in an invisible zipper with a lining.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

Fabric Used: Cotton twill from Gorgeous Fabrics for the body. A gauzy fabric for the arms and trim with some satin crepe for the flip-back cuffs.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: Oh, my, goodness. I made so many changes to this pattern. Lowered the apex, moved the side darts back, changed the darts in front, took in the hips a bit, made the shoulders narrower, took in a pinch off both back shoulders so it would not gape. I used an invisible zipper. And, as mentioned, I added sleeves from a vogue pattern.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I can’t decided!!! I have worked so hard on perfecting the fit on this pattern. I don’t know if I want to put it away and never make it again or if I’m going to just make it over and over and over again.

Conclusion:
I feel like this dress needs an acceptance speech. The dress would like to thank my husband, for taking the kids on several Saturdays and lots of nights after work so I could get the dress done in time for hosting my baby shower high tea. I want to thank my mom for listening to my every thought, mistake, decision. My 9 month old Max for learning to sleep through the sound of my sewing machine. Marec for responding to my email.
The best part about this dress is that after I finished it (two days ahead of the party!!) and wore it out, I came home ready to sew sew sew something else. With other projects, once I got done–usually just in the nick of time–I wasn’t in love with the piece and knew I would never wear it again. I also put my machine away afterwards for a while. But, I came home today eager for somewhere else to wear this dress and hoping to get a few minutes in to sew my next project before my husband got home with the boys.

Leave a Reply

