Success: Copy Cat Ann Taylor Pants

20130412-102242.jpg

Folks, these are my favorite pants of all time. The are comfy, have a bit of an urban edge, and have absorbed more stains than I care to recall. Unfortunately, they don’t really fit. They are just perfect for chasing the boys at the park but not really fit for anywhere else. So I tried to really figure out what I loved about them. First, the fit: they sit at the hips. Second, the detailing: lots of top stitching. Sewn on pockets. Flat-felled seams. A fat hem. I think I also love the worn look, but that will come in time, right?

I found a pant pattern that sits at the hips and then copied as many of those details as I could. The fit is just a little different in the back but over all, I’m super thrilled. I see a lot of these in my future. I’ve already cut another version out of black denim.

Pocket & top stitching details:

20130412-102932.jpg

Some poor shots of the fit (I need to address my camera issues, I know.)

20130412-103635.jpg

The cool facing:

20130412-103749.jpg

Here’s my official review from PatternReview.com:

Pattern Description:
From the pattern envelope: Women’s pants in three lengths and shorts in two lengths

Pattern Sizing:
6,8,10,12. I cut a size 12.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Sort of. I made a lot of surface changes to make them look like my favorite Ann Taylor pants.
Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes! I feel much better about putting a zipper in after putting together these pants. The instructions for my Vogue jeans made the process seem much more difficult.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I jumped at this OOP pattern (found on ebay) after another reviewer mentioned that the pants/ shorts sit low on the hips. This is how I wear everything but if it isn’t made to sit on your hips, it creates a baggy look I’m trying to get away from. The pattern also has darts in the bag. The first pair of pants that I made–Vogue jeans–have a very unsightly gap at the back. I read through the posts in the jeans sew-along and it seems that these darts can help fix this issue. So I love the fit and design of the pattern and as a plus, it’s so basic it can be modified quite a bit. I have already made a jean skirt out of the pattern (pics on my blog, here)
Fabric Used:
Heavy cotton from A.K. Corp in the garment district. I actually wore my Ann Taylor pants to the store and said, “I want to make these.” The clerk / owner took me right to what I needed. He also helped me calculate how much I needed of the raspberry denim to make a skirt. I had totally overestimated! He talked me down to just under a yard and a half. Both pieces of fabric sewed up beautifully.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
Lots! I edited out the pattern’s slash pockets so I could copy the Ann Taylor pockets. I added belt loops and back pockets, too. All the top stitching is my own addition, too.
The fit in the back and through the legs is great but I need a touch more room in the waist which is frustrating. I will only wear these on “skinny” days.
The length was too short, too. I had to stitch on 2.5 inches to the bottom
and then folded the additional length under to create a hem. This pattern might be OOP because there was no “add / remove length here” line and one of the shorts pieces was labeled as sleeve binding. lol.
I have made this pattern twice and both times my waist facing came out completely wonky. This might be me of course, but I am suspicious.
It has been so long since I put a zipper in that I forgot that I like to move it further under the fly just a bit more than the pattern instructs. I need to change that next time, too.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? Oh yes! I already have anther version cut out. I added the length in and a bit to the side seams so I can attempt some flat-felled seams this time. And, as mentioned, I already made a jean skirt using this pattern as a starting point.

Conclusion:
My first TNT pattern! I love it!

20130412-104048.jpg

20130412-104136.jpg

Leave a Reply

