Purchase: No Name Dress Form

20130209-193603.jpg

What comes in a box the size of a four year old?

20130209-193745.jpg

A dress form, of course!

Another shopgoodwill.com item I won. The bidding started at something like $20 so how could I resist? We topped out at $50 and I was the winner! Shipping added $25 of course, but it is a good way for me to try this process out. Drape a few items, hem some dresses. If it doesn’t work out, I won’t feel as guilty since I didn’t pay retail price.

I’ve searched all over and can’t find a brand name. No matter. We have christened her LouLou. Her under-bust and hips measure perfectly but I’ll have to pad a bit around the middle to get a closer approximation to me.

The fist piece I have planned to start draping or creating my own pattern pieces for is a yoga shirt. Something easy I can make with scraps with low risk.

Then comes high risk. I want to make this . . .

20130209-194721.jpg

. . .with a full back, out of this great fabric in my stash:

20130209-194810.jpg

Great border print, right!
Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

